picture on front cover/dust jacket
Title First World Bowls Championship, Australia, 1966
Compiling body Public Relations Dept, Ampol Petroleum Ltd
Publisher Public Relations Dept, Ampol Petroleum Ltd, Sydney, Australia
First published 1966
ISBN Pre-ISBN system
Edition reviewed 1st
Hardback/softback Hardback
List price Not known
Cover size (cm)
(height x width)
28.1 x 22.0
Number of pages 132 (including advertisements)
Number of pages with Coloured photos Black & white photos Line drawings
  16 30 None
Synopsis This is a lavishly produced souvenir publication commemorating the first ever world bowls championship held at Kyeemagh, about six miles south of Sydney. The event was financed by Ampol Petroleum Limited whose managing director, W M Leonard, donated a trophy - the Leonard Trophy - to the winning team.

Five bowlers from each of 16 countries took part in the fourteen-day competition in singles, pairs, triples and fours. (For comparison, 28 countries were represented at the world championships held in Christchurch, New Zealand, in 2008, when both men and women competed concurrently for the first time.)

Included in the book's introductory sections are pages detailing the compositions of various committees and sub-committees, and information on the venue - the New South Wales Leagues Club Bowling Club at Kyeemagh - described as 'one of the finest and most spacious bowls clubs in the world.' Among the articles that follow are reviews on: the history of bowls; the growth of bowls in Australia; the state of the game in each of the participating countries; David Bryant, described as 'the Bradman of Bowls'; women's bowls around the world; the differences in bowls clubs around the world; and the history of the manufacture of bowls in Australia - highlighting the influence of William Hensell who was responsible for producing the world's first rubber bowls in 1918, and then in 1931 the first Henselites from a phenol-formaldehyde compound. The final section - a detailed daily programme of the competition - is prefaced by pen pictures of each of the 80 players, a page being devoted to each team.

Overall, a very impressive publication.

Click here to see a list of all winners (singles, pairs, triples, fours and teams) in the World Championships, for both men and women, since 1966.