picture on front cover/dust jacket
Don't overlook this link for more books on bowls for beginners.
Title Winning Bowls
Author John Snell with Bill Pritchard
Publisher Souvenir Press Ltd, London
First published 1982*
ISBN 0-285-62584-5
Edition reviewed Not stated, but published as a reprint 1986
Hardback/softback Hardback
List price £8.95
Cover size (cm)
(height x width)
27.0 x 19.5
Number of pages 95
Number of pages with Coloured photos Black & white photos Line drawings
  39 4 27
Synopsis Bowls, one of Britain's biggest participant sports, is today experiencing a new wave of popularity and attracting an increasing number of younger players, drawn by the excitement of television coverage. It is a game which offers keen competition, a sporting attitude and a club camaraderie. It can be played at many levels of proficiency, but for any bowler there is always something to learn in developing skills, tactical strength and winning attitudes.

John Snell is Australia's master and best-known bowls personality who has created a phenomenal record in club, state, national and international bowls in recent years. In this thoughtful and instructive book, he points out that there is much more to bowls than meets the eye. To play the game well requires dedication, physical fitness and subtlety of mind - a challenge for any age group. Applying the thoroughness and attention to detail that have taken him to the top in bowls, John Snell gives step-by-step instructions to teach you the fundamentals of the game, outlining common pitfalls and how to overcome them. His practical advice is aided by colour photography and on-the-green graphics to show how to perfect your technique. A series of photographs which detail tactical plays, and a chapter on the championship factor in bowls - the mental approach - are included.

David Bryant, Britain's leading bowls player, who has competed internationally with John Snell on several occasions, has contributed a foreword recommending the book to all keen players anxious to improve their game.

*This book was first published in 1982 by John Currey O'Neil Publishers Pty Ltd, Melbourne, Australia, with the first British edition being published by Souvenir Press Ltd, London in 1983.

Also by John Snell: